Luckily, There’s 120…..

… fuses in the box.

Blown fuses

The fault was a bit of a tricky one to find – that’s why it’s called ‘electrickery’….. Anyway, it turned out that the magneto switch I was using (from a wartime military aircraft) was not what I imagined it was. I know that a magneto is grounded to stop it working but I didn’t follow that through properly and was trying to use the switch as an on/off switch in the normal sense. Fortunately, Learned Counsel was on hand to help out with that one and 16 fuses later, the penny dropped.

Replacement switches

In my box of come-in-handy items was another double-throw switch that worked as I expected it to. There was quite a lot of messing about getting it to fit the now too large hole in the dash and, at one point I had the three start controls mounted on a piece of shaped ash which I thought might look stylish on the dash. It didn’t. So, a simple aluminium plate on a small plinth was the net result. And, with everything hooked up again I checked to see if I was going to need another box of fuses and, sure enough, another one went – this time the rev counter fuse. I’ll go back to the diagram kindly prepared by Renaud (who put me right on the coil wiring) to see what I’ve missed.

Dash light

One of the dash lights works very nicely – I haven’t got a bulb for the second one as yet.

Dash

I’m very pleased with the whole look of the dashboard; the instruments have a sort of symmetry but are placed just untidily enough to look the part.

View

It’s slightly galling that having done all this work, the car doesn’t look any different to how it looked a couple of weeks ago – apart from the horn and the ash beams added to the cockpit side. I’ve had to temporarily dismantle the handbrake in order to do the panelling and, as I’ve been routing wires all over the chassis, one or two loose nuts I’ve discovered have reminded me that I must go over the whole car very thoroughly before it rolls under it’s own steam – which might be in the next few days. Bonnet tape and Denso tape for the springs were amongst my latest purchases, plus a rather sporting nickel-plated tax disc holder.

Bonnet hinges

And, talking of parts; I had a very nice surprise with the bonnet hinges. I thought I was having to face three days of flush-riveting – always a nightmare – and when I got the stainless steel hinges it only added to my concern – stainless being a bit of a job to drill through sometimes. What I didn’t know was that, far from having to drill anything, all I shall need to do is fold over the edges of the bonnet panel, slip it into the folded part of the hinge and pinch both ends to retain the panel. What could be simpler or more great a relief?

I suppose though that I’d be a bit of an expert after 120 (successful) flush-rivets.

8 comments on “Luckily, There’s 120…..

  1. Simon says:

    Glad to see you got the wiring sorted! I am going to aim for as little as possible. It took me over a week to wire up my MGB I seem to recall.

    Bonnet hinge looks good too. I am going to make the Austin style ones with the intricate folded pieces but they work the same way, the bonnet panels have a 180 degree fold that then slides down the length of the hinge.

  2. renaud says:

    Sorry Nigel, I can’t resist: “The fault was a bit of a tricky one to find – that’s why it’s called ‘electrickery’…”
    If I’m not mistaken what you call “electrickery” is those switches doing perfectly what they were intended for, grounding their inputs, but not what you wanted them, mistakenly, to do for your purposes? 🙂
    Now maybe I’ll avoid being considered a pest if I publicly claim too that the dashboard is great.
    Also more details about the hinges (photos?) would be more than welcome for I didn’t grasp exactly how they fit.

  3. Hello Renaud, your contributions are always welcome – I’m more of the pest getting things wrong all the time! Thank you for reminding me that the door hinges I ordered last week, haven’t arrived. I’m not sure how they’re going to work either – no change there then!.

  4. Andy Speakman says:

    Thanks for the inspiring posts on your blog. I have acquired a 1932 SSII (I think) chassis with Wolseley 12 inch hydraulic drums and axles. Came with a 1938 Standard flying ten engine and a SSII gearbox,not much else. Dumping the Standard lump for a 1948 six cylinder Studebaker champion lump. All your posts are very informative and have given me direction and problem solving advice. I do have have a body as well,supposed to be ex Bentley short trials body with an alloy skin over ash.

    • Hello Andy,
      Your project sounds fascinating – I hope you’ll record everything with a blog perhaps? Excellent plan with the Studebaker; there’s no substitute for horses! I’ll be very interested to see how you tackle everything so keep in touch and good luck.
      Nigel

  5. saladin1971 says:

    This is an amazing project! I am just starting a similar one myself. A special based on a Friends Aero Minx chassis. You have provided so many pointers and helpful tips 🙂 Thank you 🙂

    Watching your continued progress eagerly 🙂

    Stephen.

    • Hi Stephen,
      I’m delighted you’re enjoying the blog and I’m glad it’s been of use to you. Good luck with your Special and I hope you’ll keep a record – maybe a blog – as well.
      Cheers
      Nigel

  6. Yes, yes, yes, blogs please Andy & Stephen!
    My “frogect” is not similar at all, 1937 A7 chassis, 1937 Ballila OHV 1100 engine with a modern roots SC but it is so helpful to learn a lot from such good realisations.

Leave a Reply

